Welcome to the internet home of the Westhampton Beach St. Patrick's Day Parade Committee
1968-2017...50 Great Parades and Counting
Looking back at the first Saint Patrick’s Day Parade in Westhampton Beach, it’s easy to understand why being a part of the parade looks like so much fun—the Parade’s founders wanted it that way.
The Westhampton Beach St. Patrick’s Day Parade has seen its fair share of great moments. Besides having some of the best pipe bands in the region, there was this time when some guy marched ducks down Main Street (no, it wasn't Grand Marshal '99 Billy Thorne), and another time when someone loaded a Volkswagen Bug onto the back of flat bed truck and covered it with snow to protest the harsh winter. Yet another time one local pub’s interior was recreated on the back of a flat-bed truck.
And in 2007 then Grand Marshal and former Westhampton Beach Village Mayor Robert Strebel threw everyone for a loop (literally) when he circled the Village’s new roundabout for a full turn before getting back on the parade route.
And of course, no one can forget the Coneheads. Every year this group finds a spunky way to work politics and current events into the parade theme while barbecuing a pig on the Parade route. Often they win for best Parade float. By the way, don't even try to find out who they are going to lampoon each year, it's a tightly guarded secret!
It all started back in 1968. Sure the Mets went on to win the World Series that year and the Jets won the Super Bowl, but the big story in the little Village of Westhampton Beach was the beginning of something special. And it was all courtesy of a group that called themselves the Cooks and Bakers who some say were neither cooks nor bakers.
The unofficial story is that the group, after a long evening of imbibing their favorite drink at an even more favorite watering hole near the center of town on one quiet winter evening, decided that they should march in a parade down Main Street. So soon after they did. It wasn’t the most organized event and it wasn’t all that big of a deal at the time, but the group had fun, which is what they set out to do.
During the ensuing summer months and into the fall, a few decided that this impromptu Parade should be more. So they organized. One person went to work on organizing floats and bands while another worked on raising money.
Things started to snowball (although that may not be the best analogy considering the Parade has been canceled once due to a snowy nor’easter while several others have marched in less than spring-like conditions). Soon the parade was gaining strength into the event it is today.
Leading each and every Parade is the Grand Marshal. Carefully selected each year on a basis of community service among other attributes, 49 Grand Marshals have led the march. Grand Marshals are selected each year by the Committee and past Grand Marshals. After nominations are taken from members of the Committee, the Committee votes and the nomination that garners the most votes from the Committee gets awarded six votes towards the final vote. The final vote takes place with a special meeting of all the past Grand Marshals. The nomination with the most votes after the Grand Marshals' vote is the next Grand Marshal. The Committee begins Grand Marshal deliberations in November and settles shortly thereafter.

Past Grand Marshals
Additional Grand Marshal Photos
Coming Soon

2015Anthony Bonner
2014Donna Conti
2013Tom Otis
2012Michael Pitcher
2011Brian Crouse
2010Lynne Jones
2009Seth Allan
2008Sheryl Heather
2007Robert Stebel
2006Charlie Bass
2005Father Pete Colapietro
2004Bob Stevens
2003Alexis Whitney
2002Arma 'Ham' Andon
2001Jay Sears
2000Jeannette McCreedy &
            Gordon Werner
1999Billy Thorne
1998Ria DelBene &
                Mary Fritchie
1997Tony Galgano
1996Steve Price
1995Jim Gohery
1994John Sullivan
1993John Roland
1992Cathy Kammerer
1991Dr. James Merle
1990Bill Manning
1989Cam Forbes
1988Monsignor John Fagan
1987Charlie Johnson
1986Peter Gordon
1985Tom Lavelle
1984John Dignus
1983Charlie Forbes
1982Brian McCreedy
1981Bert McCooey
1980Barney Devaney
1979Wes Hemsley
1978Jim Tubridy
1977Skip Thomas
1976Ann Fitzpatrick
1975Jack Lyons
1974Vincent Reilly
1973Maurice McCarthy
1972John Fagan
1971Tom Garrity
1970Martin Brown
1969Dr. McCabe
1968Dr. McCabe
Our History
Our Grand Marshals
2017 Jim Hulme
2016 John Murray
2015 Anthony Bonner
2014 Donna Conti
2013 Tom Otis
2012 Michael Pitcher
2011 Brian Crouse
2010 Lynne Jones
2009 Seth Allan
2008 Sheryl Heather
2007 Robert Strebel
2006 Charlie Bass
2005 Father Pete Colapietro
2004 Bob Stevens
2003 Alexis Whitney
2002 Arma 'Ham' Andon
2001 Jay Sears
2000 Jeannette McCreedy &
              Gordon Werner
1999 Billy Thorne
1998 Ria DelBene &
              Mary Fritchie
1997 Tony Galgano
1996 Steve Price
1995 Jim Gohery
1994 John Sullivan
1993 John Roland
1992 Cathy Kammerer
1991 Dr. James Merle
1990 Bill Manning
1989 Cam Forbes
1988 Monsignor John Fagan
1987 Charlie Johnson
1986 Peter Gordon
1985 Tom Lavelle
1984 John Dignus
1983 Charlie Forbes
1982 Brian McCreedy
1981 Bert McCooey
1980 Barney Devaney
1979 Wes Hemsley
1978 Jim Turbidy
1977 Skip Thomas
1976 Ann Fitzpatrick
1975 Jack Lyons
1974 Vincent Reilly
1973 Maurice McCarthy
1972 John Fagan
1971 Tom Garrity
1970 Martin Brown
1969 Dr. McCabe
1968 Dr. McCabe